Historical core - Maximilian`s bath building, Diana`s steam bath, Park, Chapel of St. Catherine`s
Health spa complex of Stubičke Toplice, located between the streams Vidak and Topličina, hills Kamenjak and Kapelščak, built in the period 1811-1814 according to the merits of the former owner - Zagreb`s bishop Maximilian Vrhovac, and according to the projects of Christianus Heinrich Vesteburg, is a protected cultural heritage of Republic of Croatia. The same includes the main bathing building with Maximilian`s bath, Diana`s steam bath, the surrounding park and the chapel of St. Catherine`s. The cultural - historical and urban - architectural value of this health spa complex is reflected in the cohesion of different styles.
The large - scaled building of Maximilian`s bath, performed in baroque style, was the first regulated thermal bath in northern Croatia. With modifications and reconstruction, it is still operating in the field of health tourism which is developed by the special hospital for medical rehabilitation Stubičke Toplice.
In the park behind Maximilian`s bath, there was a small octagonal pavilion - steam bath Diana built. On the windows of this small building neo-Gothic motifs were applied. The pointed neo-Gothic arches were performed by Vesteburg in 1806 on the renewal of the chapel in the nearby Golubovec castle, marking this as the first application of the neo-Gothic style in our country.
A valuable historical building, chapel of St. Catherine`s, serves as the parish church since 1994 in the newly formed Parish of St. Joseph`s. It is situated at the foot of the historical hill Kapelščak and its entrance is facing the main portal of bathing establishment with which it was associated via walkways in the history. St. Catherine was built in 1814 as the third facility to complete the health spa complex Stubičke Toplice, a rare example of quality of early classicism in Croatia.
Chapel of St. Catherine`s on Kapelščak
Chapel of St. Catherine`s is placed on the landscaping and historical - memorial site - Kapelščak hill, where the final battle of The Great Peasant Rebellion in 1573 was held. In that time, a small chapel of St. Catherine`s stood at the top of the hill for which the visitation from 1622 says that it used to be the parish church. According to oral tradition, in the chapel surroundings there was a cemetery, on which villagers fallen in the final battle in 1573 were buried. In 1868, the pious and virtuous farmer Josip Šipek built a new chapel of St. Catherine`s at his own expence. The same was destroyed in an earthquake in 1880, but renewed and blessed by pastor Josip Ziegler in 1882. Municipality Stubičke Toplice was the bearer of renewal process of the chapel and its surroundings.
Memorial plaque of The Great Peasant Rebellion on viewing point Kapelščak
On Kapelščak hill, the place of beautiful views of surrounding area, near the Chapel of St. Catherine`s, there is a memorial plaque of The Great Peasant Rebellion. It marks the final battle of The Great Peasant Rebellion in 1573, where, according to tradition, the leader of peasants - Matija Gubec, was defeated and captured. Kapelščak plateau provides panoramic views over the cultivated slopes of Medvednica towards Stubičke valley (to the east) and the valley of river Krapina (to the west) and towards Medvednica itself. Viewing point Kapelščak provides an experience of a picturesque Zagorje landscape to visitors, recognizable by the mosaic of anthropogenic and natural elements (hamlets, huts, forests, groves, vineyards, orchards, meadows and fields).
Chapel of Our Lady Queen of Croats
This chapel is located on Sljeme, near the tourist apartments "Snow Queen", with which it links via promenade. In the surroundings of natural, landscaping values of Medvednica, the chapel is a favourite sanctuary of visitors, hikers, nature lovers.
The first mass in the chapel was the Midnight mass in 1932. On the occasion of Our Lady Carmelite Day, on 16 July 1933, the chapel was sanctifiedby doctor Antun Bauer, Archbishop of Zagreb. The chapel is a masterpiece of the architect - professor Juraj Denzler (exterior) and the lifetime achievement of a sculptor and painting technologists R. Hudoklin (inner part). It is a unique monument of Croatian architecture and art in living exterior... In 1963, the chapel became the parish church of Tourist parish of Our Lady of Sljeme, Queen of Croats.